Les indigènes de la 709

Collective defense action against air base 709 nuisances

 


The 709 air base located in Cognac and its military pilot school has for long attracted anger. Earlier, as it was stationed in Tours in the 705 base, the school motivated numerous reactions, relayed by elected representatives:

"On December 21st 2006, Mrs Beaufils, the Indre-et-Loire senator, in a written question to the minister for defence (JO Sénat du 16/11/2006), warns the minister on the delicate living conditions for some inhabitants of Saint-Pierre-des-Corps. The senator underlines a 'huge anger from the habitants and associations from cities surrounding the 705 base of Tours' as well as serious troubles and sonic pollutions caused by the base and its daily over flights of Alphajets as well as sporadic Mirage missions."

In December 2016, 17 advanced training planes Pilatus PC-21 were ordered to replace the AlphaJet ones in Tours. They are used to train, over one year, about 30 apprentices, 10 flying officers in charge of weapons, 10 flying apprentices from the navy, and 10 flight simulator trainers. The transfer to Cognac of the pilot school was achieved at spring 2020.

The training in Cognac of fighter pilots starts on Grob 120 (phase 2), takes over on the swiss planes Pilatus 21 for the ones who orient to fighting, during 26 months (23 scheduled at 2025). It ends on Mirage 2000.

 


Training of pilots and flying servants (Air actualités n° 732 - 2020)

.
The working zones in 2006    
 

In 2006, the working zones for the school were occupying two zones extending over 18 000 sq km. Each of the 20 sectors building the zone held each 4 aerobatics axes, concentrating nuisances. In 2020, colonel Nicolas Lyautey would mention the existence of 13 000 sq km, suggesting a focusing of disturbances since then.
The existence of fixed spots for manoeuvers is particularly worrying, if it continues, as it implies a concentration of nuisances on the same spots.blement sur les mêmes zones.



Commanding BA 709: a 2 years-long job

Each commanding officer of the Cognac-Châteaubernard base is in charge invariably 2 years. From the follow-up point of view, and especially the assurances which can be given to the population, this is obviously a bit regrettable (though we all hope that military practices are not dependent upon individuals)...

Last mandates were :

- Colonel Etienne Faury (2014 - 2016) -> Promoted brigadier general in 2020
- Colonel Vincent Coste (2016 - 2018) -> Adviser for foreign trade in 2018
- Colonel Arnaud Gary (2018 - 2020) -> Auditeur et IHEDN since 2020
- Colonel Nicolas Lyautey (since september 2020)



A typical exercice near Niort, a morning in june.

The much talked-about sonic level
of Pilatus PC-21

There are strong indications that the noise emissions from the Pilatus PC-21 chosen by the french air army to replace Alphajet were not a real matter of concern for the swiss maker, nor the one of its clients.

Indeed, while the invitation to tender for new planes was lauched 2015, while the contract was signed december 2016 with the ministry, the accoustic data for the engine - the so-called 'Noise Power Curves' - were not available from the swiss company.

Actually, the Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF) was the first one to order such data in 2016, from the Marshall Day Accoustics company. These data are intended to feed the RAAF modeling, to elaborate noise maps before 2035, that will include the new training plane PC-21 and military pilot schools reorganisation.

However, it is possible to judge that the Pilatus PC-21 is one of the most noisy planes in its range. It is indeed fit with the Pratt & Whittney PT6A-68B turbopropulsor, and its noise level rated by the EASA is 83 dB(A), placing this plane at the top noisier plane in the less than 9 tons category. To compare, the Grob 120 or the Cessna 170 exhibit a 72 dB level (that is, a twice lower perception level). One cannot plead that it would only replace the Alpha Jets, as it is alreay propose to replace the Grob 120 used in the first stage of training.

Then, the conclusion sounds the following: while the Australian army would meticulously investigate the accoustic impacts to be expected for its pilot school, the french minister would order those planes while no data was available, and therefore no serious modeling could be made.

The ministry could very simply lift the ambiguity, by publishing the environmental impact assessment that was made prior to the air bases restructuration, if any.


Harassing zones for PC-21 (may 2021)

The analysis of PC-21 trajectories, between may 2020 and may 2021, reveals the training sectors for the base. The effective area is only 11 000 km2, less than the 18 000 km2 initially available for the base (see above), or the announced 13 000 km2. Excepted the transit zones around Cognac, a dozain of zones is more intensively exploited, mainly north of Cognac. The littoral is largely unexploited, and ocean ones are almost inexistant (a zone at the height of Hourtin is very rarely used). The inhomogeneous character of impacts if even more impressive when one examines the Grob 120 trajectories, which flight over a limited number of spots. In particular, they heavily impact Angouleme and its south region.

With some 250 flyings days a year, 11 000 flying hours a year and 10 Pilatus planes generally working as pairs, it is easy to compute that each zone is used in average 1h30 per day, quite far from the 40 minutes claimed by the military administration. If 5000 hours are transfered from the Cazaux base without enlarging the working area, this would rise to more than 2 hours a day !

The option to bring together bases can only have deleterious consequences for the impacts of the training exercices. Indeed, with a reduced autonomy of 1300 km / 2h20 flight, the Pilatus PC-21 cannot fly very much away from its base. Assuming that, over these 2h20, 2 x 15 minutes are devoted to reaching and coming back from the training zone, this defines a radius from Cognac to Châtellerault, or even smaller to Poitiers. This is about what is observed north of Cognac. If littoral zones and Bordeaux area are excluded, the conclusion is that there is little possibility to dilute the impact. Decisions made to close bases thus have serious consequences for the population, as they necessarily imply a concentration for the nuisances, that no available range of action can mitigate. They have no other justification than economic (in particular, the gathering of the maintenance made by the private society Babcock on a single spot), with no visible consideration for the population..


Fly over density for Pilatus PC-21 (one year).
The training zone impacts 560 000 inhabitants.


Fly over density for Grob 120 (one year)


Pilot school : this is only the beginning

With 17 Pilatus PC21 planes, the military pilot scholl has already fully proved its great powers of nuisance. But the army has, for base 709, much bigger ambitions and - but should we be surprised - it did not show any other concern than the economical ones.

So, they will add to the existing planes 8 to 10 others, which will potentially contribute 5000 more flying hours, to the 11000 ones done by the 17 planes. These planes will replace the Alphajet on the Cazaux base, which will be transfered to Cognac. The so-called transition" phase will thus be now be operated in Cognac, using Pilatus PC21. The maintenance of these planes will be provided there by the british supplier Babcock (a 11 years long contract, estimated 500 M€), which is another, economical, motivation for the concentration. While the belgium pilots, which were trained in Cazaux, are now located in the USA, there is a great temptation to train foreign pilots on our territory, while Rafales are sold abroad (Greece, Egypt, India, Quatar...). The Cazaux training zones went from the south of Bordeaux to the Pyrénées. Does the military administration intend to move these now to Poitou-Charentes ?

In such a context, the lack of any prevention scheme, of any dialogue prior to these major changes is distressing. One hesitates, to understand this methodology, between contempt and incompetence. Both are not excluded.

* "Training of foreign pilots by the air army is a strong political and industrial stake. Experienced by the french-belgium trainings and mltiple bilateral actions, Cognac 2016 will naturally be open to several cooperations. The future school will, indeed, be empowered to train pilots for the benefit of our european partners... and also to the one of other nations which would like to benefit of the french knowledge." (headquarters of the air force, 2014).


Increase of trafic from/to Cognac-Chateaubernard (2019-20-21)

 

The true / false of BA709 (dated May 2021)

• "Not more than 40 min. on the same district" (commander, april 2020): FALSE We have got multiple testimonies and radar tracks showing that planes or pair of planes could manoeuvre the whole morning and/or the whole afternoon on the same district, sometimes for every day in the week.

• "The activity is spread uniformly" (commander, april 2020): FALSE Cumlated radar tracks at april 2021 show, at odds with this, that the base elaborates training scenarios that repeatedly impact specific zones. Moreover, these zones have now been reduced to 11 000 km2, to be compared with 13 000 km2 initially available, mainly for the benefit of costal areas.

• "There is no impact on tourism. Anyway, there is no activity during august" (a deputy assistant, april 2021): FALSE In 2020, the missions from the school were almost normal. We received multiple testimonies from touristic facilty owners who tell how desperate they are. This assistant must have had in mind the coast fair he is used to.

• "This new propeller plane is not noisier; it just makes a higher-pitched sound" (commander, 2020): FALSE The fact that this plane has a screw propeller does not help concerning its two exhausts turboprop without silencers.When the army chose this plane, the regular data to evaluate noise - the so-called NPD curves - were not available from the manfacturer. None of these curves has ever been produced by the army to justify such sayings. Finally, in dec. 2020 (Charente Libre), the commander concedes that his planes are "noisier". A nice example that the army administration tells the truth only when forced to.

• "Starting recently, we now manoeuver on the ocean" (commander, dec. 2020): MARGINAL The training scenarios elaborated by the base only make use of very rare maritim transits and, very recently, of also very episodic manoeuvres by Hourtin. The overwhelming majority of missions are done over ground. In 2020, only between 1 and 2% of the missions where over sea.

• "One cannot disclose the training spots: that would be too dangerous owing to terrorism" (a deputy assistant, april 2021): RIDICULOUS First, such spots are shown on maps that are sent to individuals who complain about the nuisance. Second, everyone may follow the planes trajectories on the web. Third, it would be much more simple for a terrorist to target a big commercial plane, than these tiny acrobatic Pilatus. And finally, what would be the problem, as the activity is officially spread 'uniformly' ?

• "When they fly at 3000 meters, you do not hear them" (a deputy assistant, april 2021): FALSE We could observe that a PILATUS PC21 manoeuvring 3000 meters ahead, in particular as it makes sharp turns, does produce a heavy sound comparable to a sander on a floor above one's head. At this altitude, depending on weather conditions and manoeuvres, the impact distance is 5 to 8 km.

• "They dont fly during week-ends": TRUE Not sure, however, this is to spare inhabitants rather than pilots..

Les indigènes de la 709

Collectif de défense contre les nuisances de la base aérienne 709 de Cognac

 


La base 709 de Cognac-Chateaubernard et son école de pilotage de chasse a derrière elle de longs antécédents de mécontentement. Déjà, lorsqu'elle était positionnée à Tours sur la base 705, l'école avait suscité de nombreuses réactions, relayées par des élus:

"Le 21 décembre 2006, madame Beaufils, sénatrice d'Indre et Loire, dans le cadre de la question écrite au ministre de la défense (JO Sénat du 16/11/2006), alerte le ministre de la défense sur la situation difficile à vivre par certains des habitants de Saint-Pierre-des-Corps. La sénatrice souligne "l'énorme mécontentement des habitants des communes limitrophes à la base 705 de Tours et des associations" de même que les sérieux troubles et pollutions sonores occasionnés par la BA 705 du fait des passages quotidiens des Alphajet de l'école de pilotage et les interventions (très épisodiques) de Mirages." (Wikipedia, base 705).

En décembre 2016, dix-sept avions d'entraînement avancé Pilatus PC-21 ont été commandés pour remplacer les Alpha Jet de Tours. Ils servent à la formation sur une année, d'environ 30 élèves pilotes de l'Armée de l'Air, 10 navigateurs officiers système d'armes, 10 élèves pilotes de la Marine Nationale, et 10 élèves moniteurs simulateur10. Le transfert à Cognac de l'école de chasse est effectif au printemps 2020. (Wikipedia, base 705).

La formation à Cognac des pilotes de chasse débute sur des Grob 120 (phase 2 de la formation), se poursuit sur les avions du constructeur suisse Pilatus PC 21 pour la formation chasse, pendant 26 mois (23 à l'horizon 2025). Elle s'achève sur des Mirage 2000.

 


Formation des pilotes et navigateurs (Air actualités n° 732 - 2020)

.
Zones de travail de l'école de chasse en 2006    
  En 2006, les zones de travail de l'école occupaient les zones aéronautiques R49A et R49H, s'étendant sur 18 000 km2, de 900 m d'altitude/mer à l'ouest et 1000 m/mer à l'est jusqu'au niveau de vol 195 (6500m). La vingtaine de secteurs composant la zone comportaient chacun 4 axes de manoeuvres, concentrant les nuisances sonores.
En 2020, le colonel Nicolas Lyautey mentionnait la disposition de 13 000 km2, ce qui suggère une concentration de la zone de survol depuis cette date.
La présence de spots fixes de manoeuvres est particulièrement problématique, si elle perdure, car elle conduit à concentrer les nuisances invariablement sur les mêmes zones.


Commandant de la BA 709: un poste de deux années

Chaque commandement de la base de Cognac-Châteaubernard n'implique à chaque fois qu'un commandant en poste pendant deux ans. Du point de vue du suivi, et en particulier de celles des assurances qui peuvent être parfois données aux populations, cela est naturellement un peu fâcheux, même si l'on espère que les pratiques militaires n'ont rien de personnel ...

Les derniers mandats sont :

- Colonel Etienne Faury (2014 - 2016) -> Promu général de brigade en 2020
- Colonel Vincent Coste (2016 - 2018) -> Conseiller au commerce extérieur en 2018
- Colonel Arnaud Gary (2018 - 2020) -> Auditeur IHEDN en 2020
- Colonel Nicolas Lyautey (depuis septembre 2020)



Un exemple représentatif: la poursuite de deux PC21
une matinée de juin près de Niort

L'Arlésienne des niveaux sonores
du Pilatus PC-21

Il semble que les émissions sonores du Pilatus PC-21 choisi par l'armée de l'air pour remplacer les Alphajet n'aient été ni la préoccupation du constructeur suisse, ni celle de son client.

Il est d'abord établi que, alors que l'appel d'offre pour de nouveaux avions était lancé en 2015, que le contrat était signé en décembre 2016 avec l'armée de l'air, les émissions sonores de l'engin - caractérisées par les courbes 'NPD' ou 'Noise Power Curves' - n'étaient pas disponibles auprès du constructeur à cette date.

C'est en fait la Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF) qui en a fait la commande, en 2016, auprès de la société Marshall Day Accoustics. Ceci dans le but d'alimenter ses modèles de prévision, dans le cadre de la réalisation des cartes de bruit ANEF (Australian Noise Exposure Forecast) à l'horizon 2035, incluant le nouvel avion d'entrainement Pilatus PC-21 et la relocalisation des écoles de formation des pilotes.

Malgré tout, il est possible d'estimer que le Pilatus PC-21 est un avion parmi les plus bruyants. Il est en effet muni du moteur Pratt & Whittney PT6A-68B, et son niveau sonore homologué par l'EASA est de 83 dB(A), ce qui le place en tête des avions de moins de 9 tonnes les plus bruyants. A titre de comparaison, un Grob 120 ou un Cessna 170 ont un niveau de 72 dB (soit une perception deux fois moindre). On ne peut objecter qu'il viendrait seulement en remplacement des Alpha Jet (bi-réacteurs), puisqu'il est pressenti pour remplacer aussi les Grob 120 de la première phase d'apprentissage.

La conclusion nous semble donc la suivante: pendant que l'armée de l'air australienne simulait consciencieusement les impacts sonores attendus pour son école de pilotage sur des PC-21, l'armée de l'air française passait commande sans être en mesure de disposer de modélisations d'impact sérieuses. Elle s'apprêterait à aggraver encore la situation, en remplaçant les Grob 120 par ces mêmes PC-21. Il existe un moyen simple de lever le doute: que le ministère produise l'étude d'impact préalable à la relocalisation et au changement de matériel de ses bases, si tant est que celle-ci existe.


Des zones de pilonnage pour les PC21 (mai 2021)

Une analyse des trajectoires aériennes des PC-21, entre mai 2020 et mai 2021, révèle les secteurs de travail de la base avec ces appareils. La surface effectivement utilisée de ces zones représente seulement 11 000 km2, en diminution par rapport aux 18 000 km2 initiaux de la base (voir plus haut), ou bien aux 13 000 km2 annoncés comme disponibles. Outre les zones de transit autour de la base, c'est une douzaine de zones qui sont plus intensément exploitées, principalement au nord de Cognac. Les zones littorales sont largement épargnées, et les zones maritimes sont quasiment inexistantes (seule une zone à la hauteur de Hourtin est épisodiquement exploitée). Le caractère non homogène des impacts est encore plus flagrant lorsqu'on examine les survols des Grob 120, qui effectuent leur manoeuvres sur un nombre limités de spots. Ils impactent en particulier fortement Angoulême et sa région sud.

Avec quelques 250 jours de vols par an, 11 000 heures totalisées et 10 Pilatus PC-21 évoluant généralement par paires, il est aisé de calculer que chaque zone se trouve utilisée en moyenne 1h30 par jour. Assez loin, donc, des 40 minutes revendiquées par la base. Si 5000 heures sont à présent transférées de Cazaux sans augmentation de la zone de travail, cette moyenne monterait à plus de deux heures !

Le choix de regrouper des bases ne peut en fait qu'avoir des conséquences très négatives sur l'impact des entrainements. Avec une autonomie réduite de 1300 km / 2h20 de vols, un Pilatus PC-21 ne peut en effet s'éloigner beaucoup de sa base pour des exercices. Si, sur ces 2h20, 2 x 15 minutes sont consacrés à atteindre une zone d'exercices et à en revenir, cela définit un rayon d'action de Cognac à Châtellerault, voire Poitiers. C'est à peu près ce qu'on observe au nord de la base. Si l'on exclut les zones littorales et l'agglomération de Bordeaux, on voit qu'il existe en réalité peu de possibilités de diluer l'impact. Les décisions de fermeture de bases sont donc lourdes de conséquences pour les populations, car elles impliquent nécessairement une concentration des impacts, qu'aucun rayon d'action ne viendra tempérer. Elles n'ont d'autres justifications qu'économiques (en particulier le rassemblement de la logistique faite à présent par la société Babcock sur un site unique), sans aucune considération affichée pour les populations.


Densité de survol des Pilatus PC-21 sur une année. La population impactée
par la zone d'entraînement est de 560 000 habitants.


Densité de survol des Grob 120 sur une année


Ecole de chasse: ce n'est qu'un début

Avec 17 appareils Pilatus PC21, l'école a déjà fait amplement la démonstration de son pouvoir de nuisance. Mais l'armée de l'air a, pour la base 709, de plus grandes ambitions encore et - faut-il s'en étonner ? - elle n'a pas démontré lors du processus d'autres préoccupations qu'économiques.

Viendront donc s'adjoindre aux appareils existants 8 à 10 autres, ajoutant aux 11 000 heures de vol la possibilité de 5000 autres heures. Les Pilatus viendront en remplacement des Alphajet de la base de Cazaux, qui ferme pour être transférée à Cognac. La phase dite de "transition" s'effectuera donc dorénavant à partir de Cognac, sur des Pilatus. L'entretien de tous ces appareils y sera externalisé, auprès de la société britannique Babcok (pour un montant estimé à 500 millions d'Euros pour son contrat de 11 ans), ce qui est une autre motivation économique de la concentration des centres de formation. Si les pilotes belges qui s'y formaient se trouvent à présent aux Etats-Unis, il existe une forte tentation de former des pilotes étrangers sur notre sol, en même temps que sont vendus (Grèce, Egypte, Inde, Quatar...) les rafales*. Les zones d'entraînement de la base de Cazaux allaient du sud de Bordeaux aux Pyrénées. L'administration militaire compte-elle déplacer ces zones sur le Poitou-Charentes ?

Dans un tel contexte, l'absence de tout plan de prévention, de toute concertation préalables à ces transformations est consternante. On hésite, pour en comprendre la raison, entre mépris et incompétence. Les deux ne sont pas exclus.

* "La formation, par l'armée de l'air, d'équipages chasse étrangers constitue également un enjeu politique ou industriel. Fort de l'expérience franco-belge réussie d'AJeTS3 et de multiples actions bilatérales, Cognac 2016 sera naturellement ouvert à plusieurs formes de coopérations. La future école aura, en effet, vocation à former des pilotes de chasse au profit de nos partenaires européens, renforçant l'Europe de la défense et l'interopérabilité de nos armées de l'air, mais aussi d'autres nations souhaitant bénécier de l'excellence du savoir faire français en la matière, voie d'entrée privilégiée pour un éventuel emploi d'équipements français au sein de leurs armées de l'air." (Etat-major de l'armée de l'air, 2014)


Augmentation du trafic de Cognac-Chateaubernard (2019-20-21)

 

Le Vrai / Faux de la BA709 (en date de Mai 2021)

• "Pas plus de 40 minutes dans un même secteur" (commandement, avril 2020): FAUX Nous avons de multiples témoignages et traces radars, de ce que des avions ou paires d'avions ont pu évoluer des matinées et/ou des après-midi entiers sur un même secteur, parfois chaque jour de semaines entières.

• "L'activité est répartie de manière homogène" (commandement, avril 2020): FAUX Les traces radar cumulées à la date d'avril 2021 montrent au contraire que la base met en oeuvre des scenarios d'entraînement qui impactent régulièrement des zones spécifiques, au nombre d'une douzaine. De plus, ces zones réprésentent une surface de 11 000 km2 qui a été réduite par rapport aux 13 000 km2 initialement disponibles, principalement au profit des zones côtières.

• "Il n'y a pas d'impact sur le tourisme, d'ailleurs il n'y a pas d'exercices en août" (un assistant parlementaire, avril 2021): FAUX En 2020, les activités de l'école étaient quasi-normales en août. Nous avons de multiples témoignages d'exploitants de gîtes qui nous disent leur désarroi. Cet assistant parlementaire n'avait sans doute en tête que le barnum estival côtier.

• "Ce nouvel avion à hélice n'est pas plus bruyant, il fait un bruit légèrement plus aigu" (commandement, 2020): FAUX Le fait que cet avion soit à hélice, n'enlève rien au fait qui s'agit d'un turbopropulseur à deux échappements sans silencieux. Lorsque l'armée a choisi ces avions, elle ne disposait pas des seules données qui vaillent en matière de bruit, à savoir les courbes dites "NPD", le constructeur non plus. Aucune de ces courbes n'a été à ce jour produite à l'appui de tels dires. Finalement, en décembre 2020 (Charente Libre), le commandement concède que ses avions sont "plus bruyants". Un bel exemple de ce que l'administration militaire ne joue la transparence que lorsqu'elle y est contrainte.

• "Depuis peu, on va même sur l'océan" (commandement, déc. 2020): MARGINAL Les scenarios d'entraînement mis en oeuvre par la base impliquent seulement quelques très rares transits maritimes et, très récemment, de très épisodiques manoeuvres au large de Hourtin. Pour le reste, l'écrasante majorité des missions s'effectuent au-dessus du sol. En 2020, on recensait entre 1 et 2% de missions maritimes.

• "On ne peut pas dévoiler les spots de manoeuvre de l'école, ce serait trop dangereux" (un assistant parlementaire, avril 2021): RIDICULE D'une part, de tels spots figurent sur les cartes envoyées aux plaignants. D'autre part, chacun peut suivre sur le web les évolutions des avions. Enfin, il est infiniment plus simple pour un terroriste de viser un gros avion de ligne plutôt qu'un petit Pilatus tournoyant dans le ciel. Et finalement, où est le problème, puisque qu'officiellement l'activité est répartie de manière homogène ?

• "Lorsqu'ils volent à 3000 mètres, vous ne les entendez pas" (un assistant parlementaire, avril 2021): FAUX Nous avons pu constater qu'un PILATUS effectuant des manoeuvres à 3000 mètres, en particulier lorsqu'il effectue des virages serrés, produit au niveau du sol un bruit comparable en intensité à celui d'une ponceuse sur le parquet d'un appartement au dessus de votre logement. A cette altitude, en fonction des conditions meteo et du type de manoeuvre, la distance d'impact est de 5 à 8 km.

• "Ils ne volent pas le week-end": VRAI Au vu du reste, pas sûr cependant que ce soit plus pour ménager la population que les pilotes.